User software additions/modifications

I’m new to ArduPlane, and for some applications I have in mind for the Pixhawk 2.1 (e.g., communication with external sensors), I’m told I need to consider adding user software. I am unable to find anything about this subject via Google.

How does one add user software to a Pixhawk-based UAV using ArduPlane? Where do the modifications/extensions reside? How does one preserve these software additions when updating to a later version of ArduPlane? If my questions make no sense, that just illustrates my need to a pointer to a suitable guide or tutorial on the subject!

Thanks,
Grant

It sounds like you want to “Contribute to the ArduPlane code.” The people who develop and maintain the software are called “Developers.” So I would direct you to the “Dev” section of the documentation for answers to your questions (linked below) especially the subsection on Contributing code.
http://ardupilot.org/dev/index.html

As you suggest, I don’t know of any specific “tutorial” but if you go through the process and feel the code would benefit from such a tutorial, I have no doubt the developers would welcome you authoring one!

Welcome to the community!

Thanks for your reply. While I’m not opposed to contributing, my initial priority was simply to implement customizations for my own specialized purposes. For example, I might have a specialized sensor that I want to communicate with the PixHawk via a particular physical port (telem, adc, i2c, etc.), and I might in particular want the data from that sensor to be included in a tlog. If I’m understanding correctly, I would need to add code to ArduPlane to make those things happen, and there might be changes necessary on the ground station end as well. I really have no idea what needs to be done nor where/how to do it; hence my question. BTW, I’m a competent programmer (C, Python, etc.); I’m just completely unfamiliar with the ArduPlane software environment.