Trex250 setup and tuning

Hey guys,

I have some knowledge from arducopter projects but heli mechanics, as well as tradheli code is new to me.
So feel free to comment :slight_smile:

Frame: used Trex250
Motor and Servos are stock
ESC: Some Hobbywing BLHeli ESC flashed with Heli Code (not _S, and not _32), so with governor.
FC: Matek F405 Wing
Telemetry: Holybro 433 Mhz V3
GPS: standard M8N with compass
Code: 3.6.5, stock params with adapted values for servos and swash…

Weight with Battery: 430gr

The tail has a lot of play. In fact around half of the overall travel…

Remembering my first steps with the copter code years ago, I was very confident in crashing that thing on the first occasion. That is the reason, why I started with a cheap and used frame…

Some impressions from the first flight:

Tune yaw first, says the wiki:
Do you see hope, or should I buy new parts immediately?
What does the constant offset mean?

Roll:
We see an offset with DesR larger than Roll: So CG or swash is not level. I will have a look into that.

Pitch:
Same, but also VFF can be decreased a little bit?

Vibrations:
Better then expected (!), looked more at live vibration levels than at the flying heli during that flight.
FC mounting is quite good, main and tail blades are junk…

Baro:
Did not cover it yet, very funny result. (As long as you will not switch to AltHold…)

I am pretty shocked, that it flew so well…

I’m no expert and I’m trying to learn as well, but thanks to the forums here, I was informed that increasing your roll and pitch ILMI values a little bit helps with the roll and pitch offset issues (experienced the same thing on my heli).

there is a lot of deviation in the yaw. So if you are seeing a lot of slop in the linkage then I would recommend removing the slop. Let’s see how the response improves once you fix the tail.