Tarot T-2D mounting plate?

Hello all,

I have a Tarot T-2D gimbal that I’d like to mount on my IRIS. Problem is, while I can buy an extended legs kit, 3DR won’t sell me the mounting plate for the IRIS. They want me to buy a whole new Tarot gimbal kit to get it, which ain’t gonna happen.

Has anyone else faced this situation before, and if so, how did you resolve it? Is there a 3D printer file for the mounting plate somewhere so I fab my own? Also, what other changes need to be made to the Tarot to work on the IRIS? On the 3DR Tarot page, it just says that it’s “preconfigured to work with IRIS’ transmitter”. What all’s required to mate the IRIS with the gimbal?

Thanks!

thingiverse.com/thing:274349

I’ve got the exact same problem, I broke the Iris gimbal mount during a fail safe landing (warning its very brittle was barely a hard landing) and they said the same thing I have to buy a whole new gimbal, its only a week old! Thats like buying a whole new engine if the radiator blows, oh boy. Anyway be careful its very weak hard to see why they would make the gimbal mount so brittle but make the legs so heavy and military strength.

I guess the only option is to 3D print.

PS Its very easy to configure so it works with the Iris transmitter.

For my Tarot frame a slow steady decent in RTL mode cracked my plate right down the center. Seems weakest and broke clean in half.

IPS Weldon 16 works well with all the plastic on IRIS sofar. It works and will melt the layers it touches and almost weld the surfaces together. IPS 16 takes time to cure and needs to be clamped but has repaired my frame and two legs. Great stuff.

Thanks for the pointer, Knightrider! Now to find a 3D printer…

3D Printing in the cloud @ Shapeways (to your door)… shapeways.com/search?q=tarot

Well, you’re a veritable fount of info! Thanks.

I think, though, that I can access a 3D printer at work. But I’ll look into using the Shapeways service if I can’t.