Setting up Telemetry over CRSF

This is my first build so please bare with me. I may have some fundamental flaws in my understanding.

I am trying to get some telemetry info to show on my Taranis X7.

I am using a Taranis X7 with mod to allow CRSF full speed. TBS crossfire TX (fullsize), TBS nano reciever, F405-wing, ardupilot. Everything was flashed in the last week to most up to date.

TBS Tx is set so Ch1 and 2 are CRSF to the F405-wing serial1 serial1 protocol = 23. Everything works well there.TBS rx Ch3 and 4 go to TBS unify evo VTX via CRSF. Everything works well there.

Somehow I think we are supposed to be able to get RSSI and/or LQ back onto the X7 telemetry page? In missionplanner I have set RSSI_type = 3. Trying to search for new sensors on X7 gives me nothing. Not understanding telemetry at all, I then set nanorx ch.5 output to RSSI/LQ. Still nothing. I then set RSSI_Channel in mission planner to Ch 5. Still nothing.

Can I get some basic telemetry back to my X7?
Why the heck would telemetry need an output ch? especially when the two way data is ch1 and 2
What am I totally misunderstanding about telemetry/rx channels?

Thanks!!!

Do you get telemetry at all? Your setup sounds correct.

We don’t publish RSSI via regular CRSF, but the TBS firmware should.

I don’t think so but I could easily be looking in the wrong place or have something configured wrong. Should I be going to opentx telemetry page to discover/find new sensors?

Why does the Rx need to output telemetry ok n a different channel than the crsf already going to fC?

Thanks!

You only need the RX/TX connection to the flight controller for telemetry to work

Ok so I can disable the RSS/LQ on the RX settings. Where would I go to enable or try to add to opentx telemetry page?

On the RX setup I also see RC by mavlink is on…not sure this matters.

Yes. Add sensors is where it is supposed to happen, but I use yaapu which publishes RSSI in a different way