Servo connections to mRo R15

I’m new to Pixhawk and Ardupilot for helis, though I have some experience with a hexcopter. The output pins on the R15 board don’t supply 5v on the middle pins, so the heli’s servos need to get 5v (or whatever) from a separate distribution board.

My question is, what’s the best practice regarding the ground wire(s)? With a multirotor I only need to connect the ESCs’ signal wires to the FC board since the ESCs have a common ground with the rest of the system. With my heli I’ve made provision for the servos to connect direct to the 5v power supply by their + and - wires. The R15 also gets its power from the same power supply, so am I right to assume that I need only connect the servos to the R15 by their signal wires. Or should I splice a second ground wire to each servo so that I can connect their signal and ground direct to the R15?

Allan @abenn1 ,
I don’t make any modifications to my servo wires. I plug them directly into the servo rail of the flight controller. Then I have either a ESC with an internal BEC or a voltage regulator. I connect that into the servo rail of the flight controller to provide power to the servos. I am not familiar with your flight controller so you may want to consult the documentation but that is typically how it is done.
Regards,
Bill

That will work fine on a Pixracer. The servo rail power and ground is completely isolated from the Flight Controller.

Thanks guys. The board is mRo Pixhawk R15. I have the manual, and it’s handy for the pinouts, but nothing else :unamused:

I’ve checked, and the ground pins on the power input socket are common with the ground pins on the 6 ESC/servo outputs though, as you say, the 5v power is separate. I’m using a CC Talon 90 ESC which has a built-in 10A BEC so I understand that by plugging it into one of the outputs it will provide 5v to the other 5 outputs to power the servos without the need for any modification. No problem there.