Real ultralight plane

He to all,
Just two line of presentation, i’m a pilot and i own an ultralight aircraft . I’m also a programmer and i love the integration from hardware and software as done here. So thanks to all the arduino bulder.
Now i have this question: has anyone tried all or part of the ardupilot on a real aircraft?
I have an idea on my mind and for my airplane: to install an autopilot without changing drastically my airplane controls. I have trim on two axes and here come the second question: can an airplane be controlled by using trims? (Roll and pitch)
I tried inflight and seems to work (manually) what you think about?
Hoping :unamused: for any opinion
Massimo

I am also a pilot in fixed wing aircraft and helicopters. I am not familiar with trim control in ultralight planes, but in certified aircraft trim is only used to relieve control pressure in stable flight so the pilot does not tire from holding constant control pressure in one direction, just like trim used in RC aircraft. Trim is never intended to control the aircraft for many reasons, the most prominent being that not enough control input can be delivered to correct for things like wind gust or turbulence.

In my opinion, what you are suggesting would be extremely dangerous. Say you were able to hook up servos to your trim and APM and actually got it to work. You would be the equivalent of a test pilot on an RC plane. Having crashed enough RC aircraft in my “test flights” the odds are not in your favor.

The APM is a great piece of technology, but I don’t think I would trust my life to it on a real aircraft. I’m pretty sure that’s not what it was intended for.

You are right, but moving the trim (i have a switch on the stick) i’m able to add a force to the control surface so the surface itself move in the opposite direction and when the attitude is reached relieve it by moving the trim again.