Problems with PPM and steering on APM 2.6 ROVER

This is my first time using APM:Rover.
My Rover is a tracked vehicle (tank style) and I am using:

• APM2.6 with power module
    -Sabetooth 2x25v2 Dual Motor Controller
    -Graupner MX-22 with Jeti PPM receiver (Mode 2)

I want to control the rove using my Graupner MX-22 radio with a Jeti system.
The Jeti receiver only has a connector for PPM (no PWM at all)
I followed the instruction using the jumper on S-Input of 2/3 and connected the receiver to Input1
In mission planner I am able to do radio calibration and all stick movement work, but the assignment is wrong.
I successfully changed the RCMAP for Throttle, Roll, Pitch and Yaw (after refresh the new values are shown) but on the Radio Calibration Screen (Initial Setup) nothing changed. The RC mapping changes seams not to have any effects.

For testing reason I took my MX-20 with Graupner GR-24 receiver and connected it via servo cables (not PPM) to the APM board, changed the RCMAP setting again and checked the changes in the Radio Calibration Screen and the changes WORK.
Can it be that the RCMAP only works with PWM input not PPM???

Where can I change settings to get PPM/Channel change to work?
Sadly I cannot change the channels 1-4 on the MX-22 so I hope I get it to work on the APM.

I also have some problems to understand the skid steering settings.
I connected
Output 1 to S1 of the Sabertooth dual engine controller and
Output 3 to S2 of the Sabertooth dual engine controller
Sabertooth is set to mixing mode - S1 for forward/backwards and S2 for turning
These settings have been used by other users for the APM/Sabertooth combination.

I assume using the mixing mode means the APM gives on Output 1 a throttle signal and on Output 2 a steer signal.
But looking at the description for SKID_STEER_IN and SKID_STEER_OUT i get confused.
It says: