Predictive parachute package delivery using real-time trajectory algorithm

I’m a college student studying CS who’s just getting introduced to the world of ardupilot. I’ve worked on a few DIY quadcopter projects with simple flight computers, but never on something as complex as ardupilot.

I have an idea for a project and was wondering if I could get some advice/help for where to start. Basically, I want to add a package delivery function to ardupilot that can precisely deliver a package with a parachute attached by calculating in real time where the package should land given current drone and wind velocity. I noticed there’s already a “delivery” function in ardupilot called payload_place, but this is different, as the drone will not stop on the ground to deliver a payload. I made a rough sketch in MS paint to try to make this understandable: https://imgur.com/a/QIO5Cec

I’m still getting familiar with ardupilot. I installed the SITL simulator and am playing around with mission planner connected to SITL to get a feel of the workflow of the software. I also have access to a basic quadcopter that’s running on a Pixhawk 4 when I eventually get something working.

To accomplish this added functionality, I think I’ll need to add a new flight mode and write custom code that will run alongside arducopter.

I’ll need the following information live from arducopter in order to calculate the trajectory:
Wind speed
Wind direction
Drone speed
Drone direction

Is there some API that ardupilot has that exposes information like this?

Should I start here https://ardupilot.org/dev/docs/apmcopter-adding-a-new-flight-mode.html?

I’d really appreciate it if someone with experience with ardupilot were to comment or give me pointers!

4 Likes

perfect use case for Scripting.

https://ardupilot.org/dev/docs/common-lua-scripts.html

2 Likes

Hi!

Thanks for the helpful comment! I’ve looked over the documentation page and the example code and I have a few questions: