Pixhawk Issue need assistance

Hoping someone can help, I have a lot of knowledge of APM 2.0, 2.5, 2.6 etc…so do not need the basics.
Never had a problem with APM. Received my Pixhawk yesterday. Please note I have tried this with the new APM planner and Mission Planner after the most recent update. This is the issue.
I can connect to the unit via USB ONLY to load the firmware. I am loading the Stable 3.1 and following the procedure exactly, I have an acceptable upload with no errors. BUT the unit after each re-do of this has LED fast blinking Red and I cannot connect via USB to MP or APM Planner, also cannot connect via 3DR radio.
I have also used the firmware from DIY firmware site and loaded as custom. Exact same results
Any help would be appreciated. Thank you much, JEFF

@Jeff,

Do you have the speaker hooked up to the Pixhawk?

If the Pixhawk startup sequence is like the PX4, which I have, you have to wait until the second set of tones before connecting via MavLink. The first set of tones is the boot loader followed by a moment of silence and then the second set of tones after which you should be able to connect via MavLink.

I assume that you have the correct Com port and baud rate selected and the SD card inserted in its slot?

Also I have found that using a powered USB hub can help with the USB communication issue. Both the PX4 and Pixhawk take a fair amount of USB current especially with the GPS/Compass module attached.

Regards,

TCIII ArduRover2 Developer

Hi
Yes correct baud rate , SD card in
I am always stuck in fast blinking red but I will hook the tones up shortly but I usually wait a fair bit before I try to connect
How long should boot sequence take? I only have been using APM until now
Thanks

OK, here is some more information
I hooked up the buzzer, I am getting continuously 3 short beeps followed by 3 long beeps, they do not stop. Let me know what you think. Thanks, JEFF

@Jeff,