Pixhawk goes straight to flashing amber main led

Hey all, I am new to pixhawk and after about a month I have given up trying to put my head through the wall. I have two pixhawk units and each do the same thing so clearly I am setting this thing up incorrectly. If I load arduplane via mission planner and go through the setup wizard I get to the point where I presumably could arm and fly. Unfortunately all the plastic brick of hate and anger does is blink yellow a few times, go to the red and blue for about a second and then back to flashing yellow. The safety switch gives 3 rapid flashes and then a pause. I have slogged the internet for days but all I can come up with is the board is in some sort of fail mode and won’t arm. If I hold the arm switch for 5 seconds till its solid red it lets me work the elevens but not the motor [ I’ve got the pixhawk in a simple flying wing ]. Every video I watch shows the blinking blue “looking for gps lock” state but mine never does that. I am using arduplane 3.7.1, a taranis plus, and an X8R connected via sbus. PLEASE someone with some troubleshooting experience shoot me some help. I can usually work this sort of thing out myself but this unit is too complex and I have no Arduino experience so I’m outa ideas on things to try.
thanks in advance for any help - Dave

If I hold the arm switch for 5 seconds till its solid red it lets me work the elevens but not the motor

Yes, That’s because your plane is most likely refusing to arm.

The plastic brick of hate and anger is trying to tell you something - Blinking yellow indicates a failed pre-arm check or a radio fail-safe (source). It looks like you’re failing a pre-arm check

What message do you see in mission planner when you try to arm the vehicle? You should see the messages tab in the flight data page to know which checks you’re failing. You can use that get some more information to try and diagnose your problem