Outreach for new addition to Singlecopter code

Hello Ardupilot Community!

A Little About Myself:

I am an aspiring open source developer. I did my first ardupilot project by updating and modifying some Sense and Avoid Lidar code for 180 to 360 degree coplanar avoidance as a custom flight mode and switch for Arducopter by tracing commits from a well known arducopter/trad heli contributor while finishing my Undergrad in Computer Engineering about a year ago. I also threw together an optical flow program for position hold relative to a target object using PTP for CHDK and an offboard controller communicating with the Pixhawk for computer vision computation (first with mavlink through the telemetry port with a custom message and later with pwm inputs for x and y flow).

Current Development Interest:

I am currently developing an ICE Singlecopter vehicle (Honeywell Tarantula Hawk remake) from the existing Singlecopter code (possibly as a stand alone thrust vectoring vehicle if appropriate as I’ve read on Ardurocket and other systems showing interest in this control system). Are there any teams or coders actively developing the Singlecopter motor code who I might be able to collaborate/communicate with? I have found figuring things out for yourself only goes so far with a project as big as ardupilot… I am going to be testing the control system and AUTO mode features and would like to ensure I am abiding by the Ardupilot standards and contribute my findings to the appropriate developers if it may be of any use.

I understand this work may not be appropriate for the official Ardupilot build but I would like to formally reach out to see if any of this belongs in the community as I tend to keep my code and findings to myself and “lurk” the forums/repositories. Thanks in advance to anyone who reads this post! I am very excited to work towards an official contribution or help with any debugging concerns in my field of interest!

Sincerely,
Josh Ward