Newbie question on setup Pixhawk and ArduPilot

Hi,
As a complete newbie I’ve not been succesful in setting up my ArduPilot on a Pixhawk. I hope someone could help me to get this solved.

My hardware is:

• Transmitter: Radiolink AT9S
  • Receiver: Radiolink R9DS (set to SBUS&PPM communication)
  • Contoller: Pixhawk 2.4.8 (connected to receiver on RCIN)
  • GCS: QGroundControl v4.0.11
  • ArduPilot Firmware version: 4.1.0

Steps taken:

• Connected all devices
  • Receiver was succesfully bound with Transmitter
  • Pixhawk connected to laptop with USB
  • QGroundControl started, succesful connection with Pixhawk
  • Uploaded firmware
  • Frame type selected (Quad-X)
  • Radio Calibrated (Mode 1, all 10 channels respond succesfully)
  • Sensors all succesfully calibrated

So far it seemed all OK, but now I wanted to setup a simple servo to be operated with lets say, channel 6 which reponds to the VrA knob on the transmitter. I connected the servo to AUX1, connected 5v to AUX6 and that’s where I got stuck. I tried several options (like configuring Cam tilt to Channel 6) but the servo will not move.

I hope there is someone who can help me getting through these first steps. I’ve been googling and iterating options, installed several firmware versions (both from ArduPilot and PX4) but none of these actions helped me getting the servo up and running.

I’d be extremely grateful by the hint helping me out.

Mike

If you are using Arducopter and not PX4 1st you shouldn’t be using 4.1.0 as a “complete newbie” as it’s a DEV version. Use current Stable. If you are using PX4 you are in the wrong forum. Assuming Arducopter and you want to control a servo on AUX 1 from an RC chan 6 input then set:
SERVO9_FUNCTION to 56

One other CRITICAL POINT: Use a separate +5 volt BEC to supply power to the servo.

https://ardupilot.org/copter/docs/common-servo.html