Newbie outta DJI

Alright I’m a complete newbie with a newbie question. I’m jumping ship from DJI, after 4 months trying to setup an A2 in an S800 I gave up and bought a Pixhawk 4. I’m working my way through but there are 2 items that elude me sofar. First when I go into mission planner I am stuck on Mode 1 in my radio setup, how do I change to Mode 2 (US) and second the S800 is a Hex but Mission planner thinks it is a quad, How do I correct this??
Thank you in advance for your help and patience!!

1 Like

Hi Frank @fehujber and welcome to our community.

I think you would need to elaborate on your question.

As I understood it, you are talking about your remote control unit?

If this is your question than mode 1 and 2 usually refers to the position of the throttle, 1 is right throttle and 2 is left throttle.

If it’s not what’s your asking do elaborate and specify model and more info.
Gal

Frank, I don’t want to discourage you, but if you did not managed to set up an A2 with a S800 frame in four months, then Pixhawk won’t be any easier. I strongly recommend to put your s800 aside and get a cheap small hexa frame which you can experiment on, and learn Ardupilot. Repair a crash is lot cheaper on a small frame than the s800.

I hear you however the A2 was used and no matter how I configured it she would not take off straight I firmly believe I had an IMU that was damaged. Thus rather than throwing more money into obsolete equipment I decided to jump over to a new pixhawk.

Sorry I was not clear, I’m using a turnigy 10 channel with ppm, and when I go into the servo/radio setup I’m getting right stick throttle but the radio is configured with left stick throttle and I can’t figure out where the setting is to go to mode 2.

1 Like

Sorry I cannot help on this model. I am using FrSky and Skydroid.
GL