Newbie Here I Have Some?

Hi, Guys, I am new here so be gentle lol
Here we go, I just finished building a 700e low head speed 6s helli, very low budget and so far she flys great! but I would like to install a flight controller, I have been looking at a few FCs, the ones that interest me are the Ardupilot APM 2.8 the MINI APM PRO and the Pixhawk PX4 2.4.8, which one would you guys go for? I would like all so to use the GPS for more flite option, do these FCs replace the FBL unit I already installed on my helli? and because I run a 6s setup the thr curve is all-wise that 100% when flying would this cause any problems in certain flite modes?

Thanks Guys for any help

P.S. sorry for the spelling or the grammar I am dyslexic!

Hi John,
The software for the APM-series is no longer supported. So I would recommend the Pixhawk controller. It will replace your FBL unit. You can use your FBL unit downstream of it as well and use the Pixhawk only for an autopilot if you wish.

The throttle being at 100% on 6S power will not be a problem as far as the ArduPilot system.

Thanks Chris

Do you know if there is a video somewhere that shows a set-up of the Pixhawk on a helli? and, I think the GPS is only used for only a couple of flite modes like alt hold and RTL? and would you go with the mini Pixhaw or the full size?

John

The GPS is used for more than that - it is part of the EKF state estimator so it provides speed, altitude, fully autonomous flight capability, etc…

The wiki has setup information, with videos
http://ardupilot.org/copter/docs/traditional-helicopters.html

I had a look that those videos you put up, is the set-up the same for the Pixhawk and the Pixhawk 2

The Pixhawk 2 is obviously the newest version of the hardware but the setup is the same.

OK thank you very much! this is going to help a lot!

O, buy the way I also have a 700 size gasser, how does the Pixhawk handle the vibrations of a gasser?