New to Pixhawk and APM in General... Could Use a Push Start

Got my Pixhawk about a week ago. I’m new to APM but I’m experienced with DJI A2 and HoverFly Pro.

I’m taking lots of lumps trying to get this thing going. For example:

1. I followed the Pixhawk quick start guide, which uses the Mission Planner software. It didn’t have a way to bind my Spectrum satellites to the transmitter. I bound them using a standard Spectrum receiver, but Mission Planner still didn’t recognize them.

2. So I tried QGroundControl and it let me bind them, but I had to tell it I was using 3-7 channels instead of the fact that I’m using a DX9. But then I had issues with QGroundControl finishing the setup.

Long story short, is there a series of links I could go to for a definitive guide to setting-up the Pixhawk? Is APM Planner the best choice? Or is it Mission Planner? What about QGroundControl? I don’t care which one I use, but I would like a proven setup method.

Also, can APM correctly calibrate and arm Castle Link Creations ESCs? They require a low throttle input upon startup and I don’t know if the APM is sending them right sequence.

Thank you in advance – I’m really trying to make the leap into the open source community.

Hi bcdebusk,

Spektrum satellite receiver on Pixhawk only supports up to DX8, please see this post:

viewtopic.php?f=21&t=5828&start=10#p9963

An option could be to use a PPM encoder and use only 8 channels while you wait for the DX9 support.

Thank you – I’m doing my dead-level best to get the hang of this platform!

Before reading your post, I managed to bind a DX9 to a 9-channel receiver then connected the sattalite to the Pixhawk. It didn’t read at first, but then if I used QGroundControl and bound it as a DX7, it worked.

I’m still plodding through things. I just realized that I had errantly used the 5-pin cable in my GPS slot instead of the 6-pin cable.