Need help understanding the PID tuning of ArduCopter

I’ve been flying multirotors for 5 years now and have done tuning with FPV racers to larger craft with 28’’ props running custom firmware.So I’m not that much of a stranger to tuning, but recently I’ve been working with the ArduPilot software for which I have the least experience.

The PID tuning doesn’t make much sense to me neither from the Mission Planner or QGC perspective. I’m hoping someone here is able to at least explain to me about which are the key components in tuning with ArduCopter.

I did test the autotune, but I don’t really think it accomplished its mission very well.

Previously the tune seemed very loose as throttle inputs would have caused the craft to wobble in either pitch or roll or both axes. After autotune, I’d say the Acro flight mode seems to work relatively well, but the rates are super low, so movement is smooth, but slow- making it hard to try some harder manouvers to test the tune. Yet Stabilize is erratic and twitchy and Loiter seems somewhere inbetween, being a little softer than Stabilize, but nowhere near as smooth as Acro.

How does ArduCopter even achieve different behavior for these flight modes regarding the tuning.

This is what my tune looks like right now. I’m running a roughly 3.5kg 18’’ prop X-quad with 520kv motors.

1. In BetaFlight or other race quad softwares, we have rates separately as the speed at which the quad will make it’s desired state change (deg/s) for each axis. In ArduCopter the phrase Rate seems to have a different meaning as it’s paired with PID somehow. So you can adjust Rate Roll PID. Which makes no sense to me. Would love to understand this.