Matek F765-WSE... Erratic Servo Movement

Matek F765-WSE

This is my first time setting up Ardupilot, and my servos are moving erratically, i.e., anywhere from slightly unsmooth to stuttering, such that there can be about 1/3 second delay during movement.

Please watch the video below which is in 3 parts… 1) Ardupilot servo stuttering when USB is plugged in, 2) Ardupilot servo stuttering USB unplugged, and 3) INAV butter smooth servos…

Ardupilot Jerking Servos

Firmware on my F765-WSE is the only _bl.hex currently available, which is in the “latest” folder.

It seems like it must be Ardupilot causing the issue, because as shown in the video, the servo movement is butter smooth in INAV.

It makes no noticeable difference being in manual flight mode compared to any other flight mode.

Even the servo output bars in the GUI look to be moving slowly and unsmooth. It’s as if something is causing a delay in processing the PWM inputs from my TX16S.

Any ideas would be great?

Cheers, Gary.

Your Crossfire-RX is connected where and how configured?

I’ve attached a photo showing where it’s connected, i.e., Tx6, Rx6, 4v5, G.

I haven’t configured anything in Ardupilot for the Crossfire-RX, because I read that Ardupilot automatically detects the protocol being used, which it does.

In my TX16S, I’ve done the same as for my 2 quads and 1 plane which also use a Crossfire Diversity Nano RX, i.e., enable crossfire for the external protocol in the model menu, and bound as usual in the system menu.

Please take note that in INAV the servos are perfectly smooth.

I’ve also tried analogue servos and they stutter almost as much as my Savox SH-0263MG in the video. I’ve also experimented with the SERVO_RATE parameter, changing it to as low as 1 for which it’s quite amusing to watch it step so slowly, but also up to 333 for which it seems no better than the default 50Hz.

Please set BRD_ALT_CONFIG = 1, this should solve the problem.