Initial APM 2.6 set up

I am a complete beginner trying to put an APM 2.6 into a large (8ft) trainer type plane with a 30cc engine. That is good.

I have stumbled at the first step however, and can’t work out from the APM website how to power up the servos, receiver and APM. I want to use 2 (or more) standard 4.8v NIMH RC batteries. I connected one to the receiver and one to the outputs and get a flashing orange light. Whats the best way for me to connect up the power? I don’t have an electric motor so there isn’t an ESC anywhere.

@harrywhite
Have you read and understood the Arduplane Wiki: http://plane.ardupilot.com/wiki/table-of-contents/
You are going to have to have standalone BECs (Battery Eliminator Circuit) to power both the APM and the plane servos.
The APM requires a minimum of 5vdc to operate.
The first thing to do is to remove jumper J1 on the APM if it is installed.
Procure two BECs: The one for the APM should provide at least 2 amps at 5vdc. The one for the Servos should be sized to provide sufficient current for your servos.
The APM will be powered by connecting a BEC to the APM receiver input power rail.
Alternately you can power the APM with the Power Module (PM) through the APM’s Power Module connector and not use the BEC.
The other higher powered BEC will be connected to the power rail of the APM servo output connectors where your servos are connected.
You can use one battery to power both BECs if you want to otherwise you can use one battery for each BEC.
Regards,
TCIII Developer

Dear TCIII, thank you thats very helpful.

So i need some sort of 12v battery and two BECs. Should it be Li Po or can it be NiMH - not sure about the power demands of the APM

Is there a good place to get BECs?

I presume i’m still using a second normal battery for the receiver power

Best Wishes

Harry

Have you flown anything before? Starting with an eight foot wingspan system might be a bit of a jump.