In-flight yaw alignment cause of crash?

This morning, after a successful “compass learn” flight to re-calibrate my compass, I started a second flight in loiter that quickly experienced loss of control.

As I’m a rookie at analyzing log files, I’d really appreciate some assistance at looking over my bin file from the flight.

I’m wondering if the “in-flight yaw alignment” that’s noted in the mavlink messages might have gone wrong. I had installed a new gps/compass mast this morning (Here3) and I’m wondering if perhaps the CAN connection to the Here3 might have come loose.

The bin file is uploaded to dropbox here: Dropbox - 2022-01-24 09-33-40 - crash - possible compass problem.bin - Simplify your life

And some screenshots that caught my attention are here:

RC8_OPTION = 31 (MotorEStop).
And you triggered the 8th channel on air.

Thanks for taking a look at my BIN file.

Yes - I selected Motor-Stop after losing positive control of the copter and it was heading for shrubbery. Unfortunately, I still damaged my carbon fiber props.

As you can see from the complete time frame - it was at the end of the flight - a very short flight.

Do you have any thoughts about the in-flight yaw alignment causing the loss of control?

Since the copter was in LOITER, it was as if it were beginning to toilet-bowl.

Thanks for any help or ideas you can offer!

Yes, I have some experience, in a very bad way.
We designed some quadcopter system without knowing that the power wires close the magnetometer mess up the magnetic field readings.
After takeoff, the vehicles were doing some rodeo moves.
Do you have any power wires close to the GPS module or autopilot?
If so, probably this is the cause, separate the autopilot and GPS module (the magnetometer) from power wires.

We were seeing that, too.

Thank you Mustafa -

This flight was in my back yard - no power lines. (unfortunately - just shrubs and trees!)