Holybro Durandal user experience in Bixler 2

I have been using the Holybro Durandal Flight Controller for over a month and I’m really impressed. My plan with this Durandal / Bixler build was to build a reliable and dependable fixed wing UAV that I could use as a tool to learn ArduPlane functionality and practice autonomous missions. If you don’t have time to read the rest of this blog post, the short version is that based on my experience of using it for this task, I completely recommend it.

Full disclosure; Holybro kindly sent me the unit to test and I’m a member of CanberraUAV.

I’ve been flying ArduCopter enabled Quads since 2013, but I’ve only moved across to flying fixed wing aircraft and ArduPlane this year. This is the third flight controller type that I have tried. The first was one of the cheap single IMU boards; it had a complete failure during my maiden; that led to the Dev team developing the Independent Watch Dog to prevent anyone else from having that problem. Next I tried one of the early Pixhawk clones; I found that temperamental and I didn’t really trust it.

The Durandal on the other hand feels like a high quality piece of equipment compared to the others. It arrives smartly packaged and I was immediately impressed. What was even more pleasing was that it came complete with HolyBro telemetry radios and a power module. As someone that doesn’t yet have a near infinite supply and variety of leads and cables, I find it a huge bonus to get everything that I need from one supplier, so I know that it will all fit together and work. The only other thing that I needed was an RC receiver, so I added one of those.

The Durandal is a snug fit inside the Bixler 2 airframe. I shaved approximately 1mm of foam from both sides of the rib inside the fuselage behind the cockpit. This allowed me to slide the Durandal in easily, and it now fits flat behind the cross-beam on the floor at the rear of the cockpit. As you can see, the fit is quite tight.