HIL or SITL with Matlab

I would like to set up a HIL or SITL with Matlab simulation the airplane equations of motion in order to test a python script to be executed on a Pixhawk board. Any help in getting started would be greatly appreciated!

Previous experience:
I have previously set up a HIL sim with X-plane and an APM board, but nothing using the Pixhawk.

What I know:
I know the current version of arduplane won’t support HIL sims, I also know that HIL sims may be prohibitively slow, so SITL may be preferential, although I have zero experience with SITL.

What I’d like to know:

1. What version of arduplane should I be using?
  2. The code i’m testing is going to be a low level controller, can HIL handle this, or should I be attempting SITL?
  3. are the required serial outputs and inputs listed somewhere so that I know what Matlab will be taking in / putting out?
  4. Do I need to modify the arduplane code in any way other than the HIL_MODE line?
  5. Any other resources to help get me started?

I am interested in a similar project and was wondering if anyone could provide some source code / simulation for matlab or simulink for the Arduplane controller. I found a good description of the various controllers on the wiki, plane.ardupilot.com/wiki/roll-pi … er-tuning/ but was hoping for additional controller code and implementation information.

I am working with a team at NASA Ames that just open sourced a toolbox that allows for easy control of X-Plane simulations or visualizations using UDP.

We have added example scripts to control X-plane simulations or visualizations from C and Matlab, (working on adding Java and python). With this tool you can easily test out your own control algorithms in Matlab or C, and you can do HIL/SIL testing with control algorithms running on the ArduPilot (You just need to use a tool like APM Planner to communicate with the ArduPilot over UDP)

Check it out on github. https://github.com/bmb000/XPlaneConnect.git