Fly a few meters

Hello everyone, i’m newbie on quadcopter and ardupilot… ardupilot its my first time fw for my diy hexacopter
I’m take off in poshold. is it normal for the drone to fly a few meters after stops providing input from the remote?
It’s like an overshoot, but it’s not an overshoot
Its like latency or delay. After stop providing input from rc the drone not stop immediately
I’ve only ever flown cheap toy drones before

There is something called inertia and it needs to be taken into account when trying to stop something but also the flight modes are built to not immediately slam on the brakes to slow down. there are differences in the way POSHold and Loiter slow themselves and how much they brake. here is a list of all the copter modes and some of their features
https://ardupilot.org/copter/docs/flight-modes.html

There is a parameter regarding loiter and gps guided modes. It’s like a delay from where you let go of the stick/center the stick to when the copter starts to counter the movement and stop.

I’ll try to find the parameter, hold on

Edit: LOIT_BRK_DELAY
That parameter is set to 2, (2 seconds) per default i think. Set it to 0 and test fly agin!

Have you done all the tuning? Post a .bin log file from a flight and if there’s an issue somebody here might be able to help you along.

1 Like

Yes, do as Allister says!

If you haven’t set the initial parameters, set your filters, and done initial tuning and fine tuning, loiter or other gps guided modes won’t work well regardless.

Did you solve the issue you had?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1dgqkLWiYda9zOiltlFNEtkcupOr3-TY_/view?usp=sharing
this is my log
and one more question. i have done auto tune without Setup>Mandatory Hardware> Intial parameter setup
if i do initial parameter setup Ins_gyro_filter set to 46, and when i do autotune a message appears " [failing to level, manual tune may be req". so i let it value 20 (default from ardupilot)

my setup :
f550 hexa frame
h743 wing fc