False reading from lidar caused flare too high resulting in stall

Group - I have been using the TeraRanger One Lidar for several months with good success on flying wing drones. However it appears that it sent a false signal to the autopilot on decent that triggered the flare when the fixed wing drone was actually at about 9 meters from the ground. Normally the flare triggers at a much more lower altitude of around one meter or less. The result of the premature flare was a stall and crash. I tested it again with the same results.

A flight log as well as a screen shot are attached.

I would appreciate any insights that any of you have on this issue.
Thank you.
Bret C

<a class=“attachment"href=”/uploads/default/original/2X/5/52d21fc62e3310271d96c6b29b6fd9fcec6445fc.pdf">FlareTooHigh.pdf (129.6 KB)

I do not think it is a Lidar error , since the reading is quite similar to the barometer altitude reading.

The flare altitude can be set by user LAND_FLARE_ALT or calculated by the autopilot accordingly to the descent rate and altitude with LAND_FLARE_SEC parameter.

You should attach the .bin file of your flight as well as your parameters file so we can check how the LAND and TECS parameters were set.

Basically it does not work , take a look here Arduplane fails calculating descent slope

Below is a link to two flights documenting the issue with the Terrabee
LIDAR

https://drive.google.com/open?id=19py85mIVlcG0itbIblZ8rXXBT24SIe6V

Also - see the link to a screen shot of the BIN file graph per the link:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1RpQTuGMok_mFGdNTLmZWGYlN46thV5823xY3Ic7o7ns/edit?usp=sharing

The BIN file is now attached.
I disagree - the flare was initiated at aromatically 35 foot AGL

Seems that you are NOT using the range finder since EK2_RNG_USE_HGT = -1

The range finder will be used as the primary height source when below a specified percentage of the sensor maximum as set by the RNGFND_MAX_CM parameter. Set to -1 to prevent range finder use.

1 Like