Customizing the apm planner and the code on APM 2.5

hi everyone, I’m making a school science fair project where I want to control a jet-ski equipped with a pan tilt camera based on the ardupilot, I’m an intermediate coder and used to the arduino, but when i checked the ArduRover firmware it wasn’t what I expected, it looked nothing like the arduino code I’m used to.

what i want to do exactly is to change or add some features to the ArduRover firmware,so it will be able to control the jet-ski and keep the camera stabilized, i will use servos for the jet-ski control but the camera gimble has brushed motors so ill be using PWM to control them, i also want to change the APM Planner UI to fit my need, i got the Planner’s source code but i don’t know which program to use,if someone can tell me or send me a link to some tutorial, I’m really stuck here guys, any advice, anything would be very helpful, im ready to learn anything, if this project works it could help me get a scholarship

@robo-shark,
I believe the reason that the ArduRover firmware does not look like what you were expecting Arduino code to look like is that we use a special version of the Arduino IDE that works with a Hardware Abstraction Layer that allows the IDE to compile PX4/Pixhawk source code as well as Arduino code.
Ardupilot IDE: http://ardupilot.com/downloads/?did=45

Regards,
TCIII GM

I understand that, but the problem I need solved is how or where can I learn and understand the firmware, in a way that allows me to do some minor adjustment, this is what I want to do exactly:
1-I want to change the pin mode of about 4 pins so that they give PWM to allow me to control the pan-tilt motors of the camera, and also use the on-board magnetometer and accelerometers to keep the cam steady even if the jet-ski is rocking from side to side.

2-I want to change the HUD in the UI of the mission planner to fit my needs, since i might be using more than one camera, I want the HUD to change with the camera.