Crash on Manual Mode

Hey all,

I’m kinda new to the Pixhawk but the other morning I had somebody testing out a new aircraft on manual mode and everything was working well.

In the afternoon I took it out again and a few seconds after the pilot had made a successful take-off the aircraft decided to do a couple of loop the loops before plunging nose first into the ground. While this was happening the motor could be heard slowing down then speeding up again all whilst the throttle was set at 100% on the transmitter.

I’ve looked through the log and can see RC In and RC Out for the throttle drop down to zero almost right away then increase to roughly 5% then zero again over and over again. This was not what happened on the transmitter! The timeframes don’t seem to match up against the actual flight either (Please see the video - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=87sfS37V_Uc).

Now obviously that’s just the throttle but that can’t explain the manoeuvres the plane made either. I’m totally confused why it all happened and I can’t work out why.

You can download the .bin file here https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid=6CBB50B90A03340A!42124&authkey=!AGFhG3MsYtHKb38&ithint=file%2cbin and please see the video of the flight.

If you can shed any light on what happened then it would be really appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

I think you had RC dropout. There are 2 graphs below one for the RCIN which is what the pixhawk see’s coming from the RC receiver and the other is RCOUT which is what the pixhawk sends to the servos. Because you were in manual mode both were identical which is good. However, notice how when you throttle (blue line) goes to min PWM all your other RC channels “flat line”. I think you will find that’s the default behaviour of your receiver to put throttle to min and output the last known value when it loses contact from the transmitter. Look at the end when they flatline and the plan goes up slightly then heads straight for the ground.