Compass calibration never completes!

Hi Guys:
ArduPilot Newbie here.

I’m rebuilding my Diatone Tyrant Quadcopter with a Matek H743-Slim FC (no onboard compass), and an external Matek M8Q-5883 GPS/Compass. Both are brand new, and properly wired together (good continuity), but not yet installed in the quad. I’m running the latest ArduCopter ‘Matek H743’ firmware, and have had no problem connecting my PC to the autopilot (using MP v1.3.7.4.1). I was able to calibrate the accelerometer, but have been unable to complete calibration of the compass.

I tried multiple times in multiple open-field locations with a lock on 12-14 satellites. The nearest building (my house) is at least 50 yards away. The compass is recognized as compass #1 (the only one), and the green bar moves to the right as it should, but when it reaches the end, it simply starts over again. I don’t have a buzzer attached, so no tones, but I never see the reboot message. I tried ‘default’ and ‘relaxed’ fitness modes as well as modifying the ‘COMPASS_OFFS_MAX’ parameter to 2000 and 3000 per the ArduPilot compass doc. No luck.

My procedure has been to stand with laptop in left arm, and compass in extended right hand. Pockets are empty. I hold the compass in upright position and slowly spin 360 degrees. I then hold the compass in each of the other five positions and spin 360 degrees for each.

I have no reason to believe this brand new FC or compass is defective. The compass shows up in Mission Planner and the calibration seems to work as designed… until it gets to the end. It just never completes! I searched the forum for help, but found nothing relevant. Any chance the calibration software is not playing nice with the two Matek devices… especially the new H743? Any suggestions? I’d love to resolve this before moving on to Rx setup.

Thanks and Best Regards,
Dennis