Camera Stops Triggering During Mission But I Have all the Trig Messages

Hi,

I have been using the Arducopter system for a few years now but first time posting an issue I can’t seem to figure out so I am reaching out to you guys.

During a mapping (grid) mission with a camera being triggered based on distance the camera seems to stop triggering in the middle of a flight line without any reason (no commands to do so). Sometimes it starts back up and sometimes it doesn’t. If I fly the same mission twice it happens in the same spots in each mission. I have a camera trigger cable and a camera shutter feedback cable and I can see that the pixhawk told it to trigger but it didn’t. I would think it was a camera issue but it is repeatable mission after mission. This is a recent issue in the past few months and I have not had this in the past. The only difference is that it is winter where I am at.

I am using a hexacopter and a plane and having the same issue on both all different equipment except the camera and mission planner so it might be a camera issue but wanted to make sure nobody saw anything in the logs first before I buy a new camera.

I loaded 3 logs here https://www.dropbox.com/sh/jugqsuv4divvflt/AABhebQLMK89RmzkZH38ogIca?dl=0 ,
1 from my copter today and another from my copter and plane a bit ago.

Thank you for your time.

Definitely odd. I looked through your first log, and everything you are telling me looks right. My first guess would be a focus issue with your camera with the low contrast background (snow). I don’t see antyhing in your mission that would’ve made it stop mid-way through flight lines unless there’s some program overload, and I can’t diagnose that from logs; you’d have to ask a developer. Maybe @WickedShell might have some input.

imageimage

The log contains 162 TRIG events, 54 CAM events. Based on this we can conclude that the autopilot was attempting to trigger the camera correctly.