Ardupilot and a big tractor

Hello everyone, I am a farmer - Nikolay from Ukraine. I looked at many projects and was admired by the capabilities of the ardupilot. My brother and I decided to create an autonomous tractor based on the UMZ-80. This tractor fell out even when Ukraine was part of the USSR, the tractor has a minimum of electronics.
It will not be easy but I think we can handle it.
Here + RTK will be responsible for the positioning accuracy, unfortunately I accidentally burned the antenna (I hope ProfyCNC will help me with the repair), but for now we decided to install the steering engine.
I am very excited because the test was successful. Now the tractor wheel can be rotated with the joystick.
Tomorrow we will try to install all the equipment in the tractor and try everything in motion.
https://youtu.be/JzTCGqpFP8o

6 Likes

Nice! I look forward to following your work.

Hi Kenny,
I’m glad you’re here. Before starting, I read all your posts here about your project, this is a terrific success story, I hope we will also achieve this result. I am going to apply your program from Github.

Today was the first test run. Now, no wires, control through telemetry. Everything worked out! Rejoiced like little children, emotions going wild over the edge. It’s just not likely to realize how a 4 ton machine is controlled by a joystick like a toy car.

The first serious stage is passed, then work on the autonomy of the system.

That is so exciting! I know I would be jumping for joy if I got it that far!

By the way, I chose Ardupilot because I don’t like the idea too much of a PC on the tractor running things. I prefer an embedded controller that is dedicated to the job. But, have you seen the AgOpenGPS project from Brian Tee? It is PC-based, but he has done some awesome work. His steering mechanism looks a lot like yours: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wkmIGRR0B4g&list=PL39TW0MWybNUy1zTCt6_DJSk4LDaO8G_D&index=1