APM 2.5 no longer communicates?

Hey folks,
I’m an admitted newbie with the ardupilot. Got quite far with it and finally started assembling my massive, custom built tricopter this week. When I first got the APM 2.5, I had the firmware installed for a tricopter and the whole thing was working awesome. Plugged it in to my laptop and had the GPS monitoring position while I walked around, accelerometers worked, everything.
Got it installed on the tricopter and powered by two separate BEC’s. It seemed to boot up fine, but yet when I had the laptop plugged in to monitor the setup, it didn’t seem to read any of the radio signals - that fancy screen in mission planner which showed the position of the joysticks showed no joy at all. I also couldn’t get it to do automatic calibration of the ESC’s, though that seemed to me that Ardupilot was doing everything right except passing on the signal through to the ESC’s for calibration.
It would not arm - at all. If I tried to manually arm in MP, I’d get “error: no response from MAV”

I found the note somewhere that AP might be stuck in a loop due to a bad calibration - this was quite likely, so I managed to get in through terminal and erase the EEPROM. I then attempted to reinstall the firmware which went without a hitch. However, it now will not connect through MP. It times out if I install the tricopter firmware. If I install the standard airplane firmware, it’ll connect about half the time. The other half of the time, it will time out as well. It always shows “Disarmed” and the HUD in MP won’t react in any way. I removed the AP from the tricopter and stripped everything off of it except for the GPS. Same problems.

Thoughts?
Thanks,
Ian

@ianjuby,