Altitude not correct, causing issues

Hi,

I’m running a pixhawk on a little 450 frame. I’ve recently rebuilt it from an APM2.something to the PixHwak. The stabilize works fine. I’m not a great pilot but the thing stays in position and so on. I’d rather fly in loiter mode, but i’m having trouble getting this thing to behave properly with regards to it’s altitude.

I’ve attached a logfile with the issue. It’s a super short flight, because quite quickly after take off i can hear mission planner going down in altitude, while the thing goes up. If i switched to loiter or pos-hold then i’m quite sure that it would go haywire. Because the PID’s are not setup correctly, going down quickly could easily cause a crash.

I’ve looked at the barometer. As far as i can see, that registers correctly that the thing goes up. So does the GPS. But if i look at the POS->Alt telemetry, then it goes down?

I’m not an expert, but i’m really puzzled by this one… Could somebody please help and review the logfile?

Logfile can be found at https://cloud.prof-x.net/index.php/s/HzNDbKoAtYMxXej

1 Like

This is often a result of high vibration which is the case here. You have very hight vibes on the Z axis with accel clipping indicated. How is the FC mounted and are the props balanced? is it one of those cheap F450 frames with the plastic arms?

2 Likes

Thanks for the response!

Yes, it is one of those cheap frames. I’ve drilled holes and put the blue rubber mounts into the chassis. Then a normal plate above and the pixhawk on top of that. The rubber mounts are stretched. So the holes at the bottom are wider than the top. Not sure if that makes sense.

The props are not balanced, they are just cheap plastic things. I might rotate them to see if that’s any better.

What would I need to change to make this better?

Would you mind also explained why vibration is causing this? The baro and gps altitude logs seem fine…

1 Like

The first thing you should do is to balance your props

BR

Harald