A Newbie Needs Help :( pleaseeeeeeee

Hey guys, I’m new to the whole ardupilot traditional Heli situation. Seems super fun - I’ve got myself a Thunder Tiger e550 and am planning to use it for medium weight aerial filming. I have some setup questions that I want to make sure I get right before the thing kills me because as we know 550s are no joke.

Sooo when I set up my old flybarless system, I had to program the throttle curves in the transmitter itself. For ardupilot do I just plug my transmitter’s s-bus straight into the Pixhawk and touch nothing on it and in Mission Planner set throttle curves? Do I set them in the transmitter?

Also question from a friend who wants to learn to fly helis - my Heli is supposedly very beginner friendly - if I set it up in ardupilot can he learn on my Heli assuming no paraphernalia are attached, or should he learn on a regular bbl controller before going to the ardupilot?

Thanks y’all really appreciate the help!

Hi,

Welcome to ArduPilot TradHeli

I assume that you’re using this:

So follow the wiki (check the videos) to set it up.

The swashplate setup is a H3-140, but pay attention because the elevator (motor3 output) is on the opposite side, so please check if the swashplate moves correctly. Try to setup using QGroundControl and load the suggested parameters for TradHeli from here Copter parameters QGC

The RC radio must NOT have any kind of mixes for the assisted modes, and all curves are handled by the ArduPilot stack.

IMHO, Helis are not an appropriate first flying vehicle to learn, but you can use ArduPilot with the E550 to practice basic flight.

Thank you so much for your help! That is exactly the copter I am using actually. Thanks for the info it was super helpful but the link you sent doesn’t seem to be working for me?

https://github.com/ChristopherOlson/ArduHeli/releases/download/Heli_Setup/Copter3.6_TradHeli_Setup_QGC.params

This gives me a 404 error on GitHub?

Sorry :slight_smile:

1 Like