[Solved] Pixhawk 2 and HERE GNSS setup

I have recently got a Pixhawk2 and a “Here GNSS”. I am having trouble getting a lock on my GPS position. As I am quite new to this I am not sure if there is something I have missed during the setup. I simply connected the GNSS to the Pixhawk, and installed the Rover firmware.

When I power the Pixhawk, the LED’ s of the GNSS first start flashing red and blue before switching to a mode in which the LEDs flash yellow (see image below, also the round button on the here gnss is flashing red).

I tried repeating this process outside and the same LED pattern occurs. The message output of the apm_planner ground control is as follows:

[MAV 001:1] GPS 0: detected as u-blox at 115200 baud
[MAV 001:1] u-blox 0 HW: 00080000 SW: EXT CORE 3.01 (107900)

The lat, long and relative_alt are all 0

I would appreciate any help or suggestions on getting a GPS lock.

Thanks,

Guillaume

1 Like

The yellow flashes could be a few things but it’s hard to know without the specific pattern and any accompanying beep codes. See here: http://ardupilot.org/copter/docs/common-leds-pixhawk.html

I’m going to assume that it has failed pre-arm check. Have you got it connected to Mission Planner when you boot? If so, are you seeing any errors on the HUD?

Also, and I am sure you’ve tried it, have to turned it on when outside with a clear view of the sky?

1 Like

The GPS messages indicate that you clearly are detecting the GPS correctly, and that you have bidirectional communication so the wiring looks good. As @_Matt indicated the yellow led’s are a prearm check failing, and doesn’t really tell us much about the GPS at the moment.

It’s possible something on your system is creating GPS intefrence. I’d test if you get a fix if you power the autopilot with a USB cable and don’t connect the battery. (I’d try this test outside BTW)