Ok this is going to sound weird... but it can work! Using Trolling Motors :)

Hello Everyone!

I am currently working on a very interesting build but I am stuck with part of the design and could really use your advice!

I am using a Pixhawk to steer a larger boat autonomously but instead of using small thrusters and ESCs (Blue Robotics) I am using two larger trolling motors activated with a 12V relay.
There is no rudder so steering is controlled via the motors. (Skid Steer)

My problem lies in how to control / wire this thing together?

I have lots of experience controlling motors with an ESC but how can I get the pixhawk to activate the relays as THROTTLE PORT & THROTTLE STBD.

Also, considering that I don’t actually have a throttle or speed control as such - only the ability to turn either the port or starboard motor on/off…

What settings would need to be changed to enable it to keep a course through the water?
or would the ardurover code just not handle these modifications to outputs?

I have done quite a bit of research online but I can’t seem to figure out the easiest way to make this work.

Surely, it can’t be too hard?
I am basically simplifying the autopilots controls to only two outputs. Forward Port & Forward Starboard.

Thanking you in advance for your great advice!

Adam

Hi Adam

I’ve built a 2m skid steer boat that runs on Minn Kota trolling motors. Just cut out all the Minn Kota electronics and wire some ESCs to the motor power leads and Ardurover / Pixhawk will do the rest!

What motors are you wanting to use? Something that runs on a bus protocal system?

Hi Russ,

Thanks for the info mate…

1. I would need two big 50A esc each to make that work… and I am also a
    little worried I might break the motor with unusual input…

2. Is there anyway to just change a setting to make it work with the relays
    I have already? I don’t need to change speed…

3. I am using 45lbs 12v striker trolling motors… the throttle switch /