My quadranger refuse to hover

This is my first try in quad plane. Basically follow the Quadranger example from the manual. I’ve double check the motor rotation and configuration. I’ve also completed ESC calibration as per manual. As the Ranger EX is a tail dragger, at Q stabilise mode, once I start to advand the throttle, the rear motor provide enough lift to level the plane. But once I advance the throttle further and try to lift off, the plane drift to RHS very fast and I can not control it even with full left aileron stick. I’m using 3.71. Is there some very basic things I miss out ? Apprciate if anyone can offer some suggestion to rectify the issue. Thanks in advance.

Look at my example for the Ranger EX QuadPlane under the “Plane 3.6” category. It may give you some help.

Thanks Greg. I’ll try and see. Thanks for the great post.

Hi Greg

Thank you very much for your great artical. It does help a lot. I follow your recommandation and most of the param. I also rectified that I’ve make some basic / stupid mistake. I actually test the param with a DJI F 450 quad rotor. The only param that I change is the pitch / roll rate I from 0.15 to 0.07 because I found that it had some low frequency oscilation.
Now I can hover my QuadRanger in QStabilise mode. However, when I try QLoiter, it drift a lot and actually worse than stabilise mode. Do you know what param or the possible cause of this problem ?

Thanks

keeyen,

I’m glad that you are seeing progress now. For Q_Loiter, I would first recommend testing Q_Hover mode which is similar to the Copter Alt. Hold mode. This verifies BARO performance without using the GPS features. Then you can test Q_Loiter mode.