ImportError: No module named future

Hello everyone. I am new to this and trying to get everything set up, but am running into an error trying to run ‘make sitl -j4’ in Cygwin.

Everything is installed and seems to be running, however when I get to that step it starts and then stops with:

mavgen: failed

When I try to reinstall future it says ‘the requirement is already satisfied’.

I have tried reinstalling things and manually downloading the future module but nothing seems to work.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

You need to get future and compile it. https://pypi.python.org/pypi.future Save yourself a lot of extra trouble and install linux instead of trying to use emulators. Not that difficult and it doesn’t require a ton of disk space. I have windoze and 3 flavors of linux on this box. To get away from the problems with grub and dual booting with windoze install linux on a separate disk and don’t let it update the windoze boot manager. Ubuntu will recognize the windoze bootmanager and put it in its boot menu. Then just set that disk as your boot disk in the bios. No issues with dual booting that way.

Thanks for the reply! I have actually already grabbed future from the python site and no matter how I try it, it always tells me it’s already there. I’ll look into the Linux concept and go from there unless anyone else has a thought. Thanks again!

Did you try to uninstall it? Pip uninstall command?

Thank you, yes, I have tried that with the same result. At this point I am going to remove everything down to and including python and start over. I’ll post the result. Thanks again.

Complete uninstall and reinstall with no change. In case I’m mis-interpreting the error, below is the full output. Any other thoughts would be appreciated. Thank you!

$ make sitl -j4
Checking modules
echo "Generating MAVLink headers…"
Generating MAVLink headers…
#goto mavlink module directory and run the most recent generator script