GPS Track is constantly moving around the drone

Hi, new member and new pilot.

I’ve assembled a HMF S550 with a PixHawk running the latest copter, and with a lot of reading have almost got it ready to fly.
I have managed to get it off the ground after a few issues, worked through with help from old threads here - so many thanks for all the info so far, but i have one or two things i am uncertain of that have stopped me going for a full test flight.

On the flight data screen, my black line (GPS Track) is moving all around my copter when i test with or without main power supply attached (not motor / esc interfearance)
What does this suggest? It has 3d GPS Fix. and its heading is correct.
Would instability of this GPS Track cause me a fly away or similar issue?
Or is this a compass related issue that could cause me to yaw or toilet bowl?

Im very new to this, but have been reading for months so i hope i don’t fall into the idiot category, but a lot of this terminology is not fluent to me yet so i may have mis-understood something along the line.

Thanks in advance for any assistance you may be able to offer me!

1 Like

Short answer, I believe it is ok.

GPS position from the Satellites is not pinpoint accurate. GPS position is only accurate to, I believe to a 3m diameter circle. Arducopter uses the other sensors to hold a tighter position. UNLESS you are using a RTK GPS setup, but it does not sound like you are.
I am sure someone could give a better technical answer, but I think you are ok.

Thanks - im heading out to the field now for an attempt at a first proper flight

well i didnt achieve much - other than my throttle is ridiculously overpowered.
it flies - but without any motion from me it flew off for 20m ish - and i cut the throttle before it decided to go further.

ive started another thread to sort that issue out before i look at this again, but it certainly didnt hold any position :frowning:

Hi DoubleT,