Feed Optical Flow from custom sensor/algorithm to Ardupilot

I have implemented an optical flow algorithm in Python, and I would like to send the retrieved information to Ardupilot.

I am a beginner with Ardupilot, and as such I am wondering if it is possible/how I can do it.
My guess is that sending the proper Mavlink message would do the trick and optical flow from my algorithm could be accounted. Is this correct? If so, which is the correct MAVLink message to send?

Can you please advise?

If it makes a difference, I am using the Navio2 board with a Raspberry Pi 2.

Thank you.

Hi Yannis,

ArduPilot has many libraries, some of which have different backends/drivers. For your specific case you need to create a new Optical Flow backend (https://github.com/ArduPilot/ardupilot/tree/master/libraries/AP_OpticalFlow) that updates the frontend (from where all the optical flow is gathered by other libraries). How your backend gets information from your algorithm is something you’ll have to thing about - you are running Linux so there are multiple ways for process inter-communication.

As far as I’m aware there is no MAVLink message to send the needed optical flow information to a flight controller (and if there is, ArduPilot doesn’t support it at the moment).

Thank you Francisco for your answer.

I’ve been looking at the AP_OpticalFlow code as you suggested, which seems quite straightforward.

Apart from subclassing and implementing OpticalFlow_Backend (and recompiling of course), is there any other step that I should do to enable my custom sensor in the GCS to appear? I.e. should it be registered somehow, somewhere?

Thank you.

Also, I understand from the OpticalFlow_state struct that both optical flow based rate as well as body based rate (using a gyro) can be reported by the sensor implementation.