Autotune Mishap with AC3.5 rc 2

Hi All,

I decided to load up 3.5 rc2 onto my quadcopter. This quad flew pretty decent on 3.4 but I wanted to try the new autotune in 3.5 to see if it dialed things in a bit more. I tried to fly it to run an autotune last night but when I flipped the switch to start autotune, nothing seemed to happen. Since it was dark, I chose to wait until daylight to try it again. Today, I tried autotune again. At first it seemed as if nothing was happening. I turned it on and off several times trying to get some sort of action. After leaving it in autotune for a while, it did seem that it started to react. i thought it might have been a new intentional behavior. It quickly got very twitchy and then violently flipped itself upsidedown and propelled it into the ground. Not a fun moment. Still a complete novice in log analysis, so dont know what to look for. Can anyone tell me what may have caused this behavior, especially since 3.4 flights and autotune never yielded anything like this?

00000360.BIN (1.7 MB)

did you happen to have a GCS running? I’d love to see the tlog of the flight if you did

we notice channel 9 goes high at the end, which is emergency stop. Did you trigger emergency stop after it flipped over or before?

Yes I was. Here it is. 2017-03-20 18-19-07.tlog (440.5 KB)

As soon as it flipped over I flipped my emergency stop switch to try to save motors and props. My guess is I hit the switch about when it hit the ground.

Anything helpful in that tlog?

Jimmy,

Tridge, Peter and I had a look at the log and the issue doesn’t appear to be with AutoTune. The issue is that the timing of the main loop starts getting worse from about 29000 and the main loop actually stops for about 0.6 seconds at the time of the crash (around line 39000).

This is very odd and we don’t understand the cause yet. I’m not sure we have enough information in the logs to narrow down where the problem has come from.