Auto Mode Rover Spinning in Circles

My first foray into rovers from building copters. I have finally got the Rover to arm after disabling some arming checks. The first attempt of an Auto Mission (via Tower) has resulted in the unit spinning in circles. I’m new to rover, be gentle.

1 Like

@Jimmy_Oliver,

If you were using MP instead of Tower, I would have recommended checking the “reverse” box next to the Roll bar in the Radio Calibration page.

However, you might be able to accomplish the same thing by setting the RC1_REV parameter to -1 assuming that RC1 is your steering servo output.

Regards,
TCIII AVD

1 Like

That worked! Excellent. Thank you.

I am having this same problem in Rover 3.4.2 318a941d. I tried to check the reverse box in ROLL but it still spins in AUTO.
RadioLink Pixhawk
RadioLink at 10 trx
sabertooth 2x60 controller
2 24vdc wheelchair motors
When I reverse the roll it make steering right & left reverse in manual mode .

Check your FRAME_CLASS and PILOT_STEERING_TYPE

FRAME_CLASS rover
PILOT_STEERING_TYPE1

Symptoms include
Auto mode rover turns and spins left for several seconds then slows abit and software said “crash going to hold”

I think we discussed this in another thread… but in any case, it’s likely that either SERVO1_REVERSED and/or SERVO3_REVERSED is set incorrectly. It can be checked using the MP’s motor test screen.

Randy: I did as you suggested and you are correct . The motors when test C is pressed
Motor turns mower right & test d both motors go forward.
Here is a LOG file.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=15-STLhSHcjCIyHK6AJwHqBG7H-NqhW3X
If you care to look.
Doug

DougW,

OK, something is certainly wrong, probably with the ESC/motor board setup. The “Test Motor C” button should only make the left wheel turn forward. “Test Motor D” should only make the right wheel turn forward (see note in red on the picture here).